top of page

My learning so far in Media 4000

This class really had me look at my definition of what learning is Not only what learning is, but learning in respect to the great world of media. Before I took my media course, I never really understood the dynamics of incorporating technology into a classroom.

I didn't realize that my idea of learning has greatly shifted over the length of this course; in September I came into this class with a very vague idea of what my stance was regarding technology and media in the classroom. I knew that technology could be use but I never really understood the complexity of how to integrate media in such a way that really enhances the learning, rather than just make the learning appear ‘fun’. Looking at my beliefs now, I can say that I truly understand what the presence of technology in a classroom should look and sound like.

Below are some links to some helpful articles about teaching using media and technology:

One of my favourite parts of this course was learning about ‘Google hangouts’; I like this opportunity to collaborate with others around the world and online because it really demonstrates the idea that media and the classroom is part of this new age participatory culture. This can be such a great tool for classrooms, particularly for social studies or geography, as I can connect students to places around the world and others with information and experiences they would to be able to read about in textbooks.

My only issue with media in the classroom is that not all schools have access to such technology and resources. As we learnt in our one google hangout, our guest speaker answered by question of what we should do about digital stories if certain technology isn't available. His answer was simple: you can’t. This bugs me, but takes me back to the basics of teaching. Having technology is not the centre of classrooms, even in such digital age. The teacher is the one who takes the material and is able to integrate it into lessons. At the end of the day, as long as I ensure mrs students are engaged, with or without technology, I will be a successful teacher. in other words, “learning is…being able to adapt and enhance when available”.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page