top of page

What kind of media teacher will you be?

In our media class, we took a quiz to determine what kind of teacher we will be in regards to our attention to media and ability/passion to bring media into the classroom. Before I took this quiz I already knew media would be important to me as a teacher; I believe a key way to engage students is to be relatable, use examples they will understand and find interesting rather than rely on the dense information in textbooks. Pop culture and social media will be a great tool in my classrooms, and this results from test proved my opinions:

One aspect of this quiz I would like to point out is the fact that students do not need technology to succeed; I am sure there will be a point in my careerwhere I will be at a school that does not have the funding required to provide the top of the line technology other schools have the privilige of having. Technology does not define a student. Privilige does not define a student. Although I am a huge advocate of media and technology in the classroom, teachers should be able to provide an amazing education with or without it. As a 'taste maker', i am interested in expanding the horizons of my students. While they may be well vrsed in their own pop culture and westernized identity, they will need to understand different culutres and how our pop culture is percieved by other cultures and their pop culture. They will be challenged to leave the protection of their own lves to imagine for one minute that if they had been born in another part of the world, their perception of culture would be completely different.

As a tasemaker, I will have a strong background in the arts (no joke, I do!). My background in the historical arts and culture embedded in them will offer a unique perspective to students of the classical class. My greatest challenege will be my attempt to deconstruct the past as well as the present to provide an unbias learning experience to ym students.

To take the test yourself and see what type of media teacher you will be, use this link: http://quiz.powerfulvoicesforkids.com

Enjoy!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page